MOUNTVILLE BOROUGH COUNCIL REORGANIZATION MEETING MINUTES JANUARY 03, 2022

A meeting of the Mountville Borough Council was held on Monday, January 3, 2022, at 1700 hrs. in the Mountville Borough Hall at 21 E. Main Street, Mountville, PA 17554. This meeting was for the purposes of reorganization.

The following Council members were present:

- Lenny D. Heisey, Christine Eshleman, Jesse Hersh, Matt Auker, Jonah Eastep, Phil Kresge and Mayor S. Mitchell. Harry Morgan was absent.
- Also, present was Borough Manager Derrick Millhouse.

Mayor S. Mitchell was sworn in by District Justice M. Bixler at 1700 hrs. in the meeting room. Mayor Mitchell then swore in the newly elected/re-elected members of Council, Phil Kresge, Lenny Heisey and Matt Auker.

The meeting was called to order at 1715 hrs. by Mayor Mitchell.

- Nominations were opened for the position of Council President. Jesse Hersh was nominated by L. Heisey. There were no other nominations.
 - *L. Heisey moved to appoint Jesse Hersh as Council President*. M. Auker seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried by unanimous vote.
- Nominations were opened for the position of Council Vice-President. Christine Eshleman was nomination by L. Heisey. There were no other nominations.
 - *L. Heisey moved to appoint Christine Eshleman as Council Vice-President*. J. Eastep seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried by unanimous vote.

Mayor Mitchell turned the meeting over to Council President J. Hersh.

- Nominations were opened for the position of Council President Pro-Tem. P. Kresge was nominated by C. Eshleman. There were no other nominations.
 - *C. Eshleman moved to appoint Phil Kresge as Council President Pro-Tem*. L. Heisey seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried by unanimous vote.

Borough Appointments

- Vacancy Board *J. Hersh moved to appoint Pamela Mitchell to the Vacancy Board*. C. Eshleman seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Planning Commission (5 yr. term) *J. Hersh moved to appoint C. Eshleman to the Planning Commission*. L. Heisey seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Borough Authority J. Hersh moved to reappoint Theresa Baker to a 5 yr term to the Mountville Borough Authority.
 C. Eshleman seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- LASA Board *L. Heisey moved to appoint Derrick Millhouse to the LASA Board*. C. Eshleman seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Zoning Hearing Board –

- J. Hersh moved to accept the resignation of S. Mitchell from the board. P. Kresge seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- *C. Eshleman moved to appoint Bryan Duquin to fill the vacancy on the Zoning Hearing Board which term expires on Dec. 31, 2023.* P. Kresge seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- *C. Eshleman moved to appoint Michael Rossi to a 5 yr term to the Zoning Hearing Board as an alternate.* J. Eastep seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Auditors *P. Kresge moved to appoint Sager, Swisher and Company as the Borough Auditors*. L. Heisey seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Depository *L. Heisey moved to appoint Fulton Bank as the Borough Depository*. C. Eshleman seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Engineers *L. Heisey moved to appoint Rettew Associates as the Borough Engineer*. P. Kresge seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Solicitor *P. Kresge moved to appoint May, Herr and Grosh as the Borough Solicitor*. M. Auker seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Zoning Hearing Solicitor P. Kresge moved to appoint Michael W. Davis as the Borough Zoning Hearing Solicitor.
 L. Heisey seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Zoning Health and Code Enforcement *C. Eshleman moved to appoint Rettew Associates as the Zoning, Code, and Health Enforcement Officer*. L. Heisey seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Sewage Enforcement- *P. Kresge moved to appoint Rettew Associates as the Sewage Enforcement Officer*. L. Heisey seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
 - Resolution 2022-1 Sewage Enforcement Fees *P. Kresge moved to adopt resolution 2022-1*. L. Heisey seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Solicitor P. Kresge moved to appoint May, Herr and Grosh as the Borough Solicitor. M. Auker seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Employment *P. Kresge moved to re-appoint Derrick Millhouse as Borough Manager, Doris Reisinger as Administrative Assistant and David Pott and Edward Benner as Public Works*. C. Eshleman seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Approved check signers J. Hersh moved to approve Jesse Hersh, Christine Eshleman and Derrick Millhouse as approved checking/banking signers for the Borough. L. Heisey seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.

Meeting Dates – P. Kresge moved to schedule regular meetings on the 2nd and 4th Mondays of each month, starting at 1900 hrs. L. Heisey seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.

Unfinished Business

- Snowplow for 2022 Chevy Pickup The original quote in December was for the mounting hardware only. The new quote for the plow blade and mounting hardware, with installation is \$7715.00 with Costars pricing.
 - *L. Heisey motioned approve \$7715.00 to be used from Capital Reserve to purchase the snowplow blade, mounting hardware and installation.* C. Eshleman seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.

- Borough Manager Contract
 - L. Heisey motioned to approve the Borough Manager Contract for the term beginning January 3, 2022 and expiring on January 2, 2024. M. Auker seconded the motion. Council was in accord and the motion carried.
- Borough Council Committee Appointments
 - President Hersh appointed the following Councilpersons to their respective committees:
 - P. Kresge Public Safety Police/Fire
 - C. Eshleman General Government
 - L. Heisey Planning and Zoning
 - J. Eastep Parks and Recreation
 - M. Auker Streets
 - H. Morgan Health and Sanitation

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 1736 hrs.

Respectfully submitted,

Derrick J. Millhouse Secretary/Treasurer